DUI Arrests

Additional Information

Nevada DUI Charges

When the average adult thinks of a DUI, the picture that often pops in their head is someone who got caught driving under the influence of alcohol. While it is true that the most DUI arrests involve individuals in passenger vehicles under the influence of alcohol, there are numerous other manifestations of a DUI in Las Vegas.

Some of these manifestations include:

  • Marijuana DUI
  • Aggravated DUI
  • Felony DUI
  • Misdemeanor DUI
  • Under The Influence While Boating (BUI)
  • Commercial DUI
  • Metabolite DUI
  • Low BAC DUI
  • High BAC DUI

Each type of DUI has a separate set of penalties and qualifying factors. However, they all are dealing with an individual driving an automobile (motor or nonmotor) under the influence of alcohol or drugs. There are even instances when you can be charged with driving under the influence when you are not driving at all.

For example, you’re driving home from the bar after having a few or a lot of drinks, and you find yourself starting to doze off. Instead of risking getting pulled over or getting involved in a damaging car accident, you decide to pull to the side of the road and sleep it off. You wake up to a police officer tapping on your window and the next thing you know you are being arrested and thrown into the back of a squad car. The police officer explains that even though you were not driving the car at the time, the keys were still left in the ignition.

Situations like these occur often and result in people who tried to do the right thing getting charged with a DUI.

What Happens After You’ve Been Arrested for DUI in Nevada?

Getting arrested for driving under the influence and can be an awful experience. From spending any time at all in jail to having to get your vehicle out of impound, you may feel exhausted, grimy and even anxious or scared about what happens next. These feelings are completely normal. You are probably asking yourself, “What now? What are the penalties for DUI? What do I do about my license? How do I hire a DUI attorney?”

Whether it’s work, school or basic errands, we need to drive to maintain our livelihood. Needless to say, the first step we take is getting your license back. In Nevada, if you have never lost your license for a DUI, you may be eligible to obtain an immediate hardship license at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), but you only have 10 days to apply from the date of your arrest.

The steps to do this is called a waiver hearing as you are simply waiving your right to challenge your suspension and in return, you receive a hardship license. The hardship license allows you to get to work or school and run errands that are necessary for your daily life.

Speak with a Las Vegas DUI Lawyer Today!

Whether you are a Nevada resident, tourist, or truck driver, we can help you fight for justice. At Car Accident Lawyers in Las Vegas, we have over 50 years of combined experience and will do everything needed to vigorously defend your case.


Nevada DUI Penalties

The problems of a DUI can range from monetary fines and jail time to years of driver’s license suspension and the inability to obtain auto insurance. The severity of the consequences will depend on your situation. The Nevada DUI defense lawyers at DUI Lawyers in Las Vegas can provide a free case assessment to help you understand the penalties you may be facing. Our DUI lawyers take the time to break down the information and educate you to ensure you fully understand your current situation and the road ahead.

We discuss information such as:

  • Plea Agreements: Once you plead no contest to Driving Under the Influence, it stays on your criminal record. You may appeal the sentence within 15 days of the plea agreement being accepted, but the no contest plea is the same as being found guilty, so your record is affected.
  • Pretrial Diversion: Pretrial diversion is a great option because completion of the program guarantees your charges will be dropped. To be eligible for pre-trial diversion, this must be your first DUI arrest, you cannot have any prior convictions for a similar crime, and you must be a legal Nevada resident.

Can You Help Me Get a Hardship License?

If this is the first time you’ve lost your license for an alcohol-related offense, you will need to enroll in the DUI level one school sponsored by the Nevada Safety Council. We will show you how to enroll and take your enrollment paperwork to the DMV and ask them to waive your hardship hearing.

Have you lost your license for an alcohol-related in the past? Learn more about handling a DUI as a repeat offender.

What Happens if I Obtain Multiple DUIs?

The state of Nevada is particularly harsh on DUI offenders. The initial penalties for a first offense often involve probation license removal and possible jail time depending on the specifics of your case. However, with every additional offense, the penalties get more severe and the likelihood of you facing additional time behind bars steadily increases. Criminal penalties will vary depending on which of the following categories you belong to:

  • First-Time DUI Offender
  • Second DUI Offense
  • Habitual DUI Offender
  • Fourth DUI Offense

Our team of DUI Lawyers Las Vegas at The Car Accident Lawyers in Las Vegas firm can help protect your freedom. We can evaluate your case, make you aware of potential penalties, and serve as your legal representation throughout the legal process.

Speak with a Las Vegas DUI Lawyer Today!

Whether you are a Nevada resident, tourist, or truck driver, we can help you fight for justice. At Car Accident Lawyers in Las Vegas, we have over 50 years of combined experience and will do everything needed to vigorously defend your case.

Defending DUI Charges in Clark County

We pride ourselves on staying on the cutting edge of techniques. We understand the latest developments in field DUI testing, breathalyzers, ignition interlock devices, and other new technologies and techniques that can affect your case. Learn more about our DUI Defense Strategies.

We do more than offer a free consultation. We can review your facts, determine a strategy of defense and go over your alternatives instead of just walking in and pleading guilty to a DUI.

If you have never been charged or arrested for DUI before, you may be eligible to get your charge dropped in a DUI diversion program. In many cases, we may be able to reduce your charge to Reckless Driving and in some cases even Careless Driving, a civil citation. You will also get a free guide to dealing with your arrest which provides helpful tips and information about the process.